A New Trick for This Old Dog

“You can’t teach an old dog a new trick.”  We’ve all heard this saying and quite often we use it as an excuse to not implement change in our lives.  I’ll admit that I have in the past.

This April as my 46th birthday came and went and we were looking forward to Avery’s first birthday, I found myself unhappy with some areas of my life, some habits that I was allowing controls over my time and money and, yes, even my attitude at times.  When I stepped on my scale at the end of April, the number shocked me.  It was 5 pounds heavier than I anticipated.  Then I took a good hard look at myself.  Did I want to be healthy enough to enjoy Avery and her little brother who’s on the way?  I thought of Mike and I getting to take them to cattle shows and helping them.  And I knew if I wanted to actively participate in their lives, I HAD to make a change.

About this same time, a young woman who grew up with our boys, posted her weight loss story on Facebook.  After God and I had a talk about the future, I sent her an email.  She sent me some information on the supplements she was using from the Xyangular company.  I read some more and thought this might just be the path that could work for me.  Oh, but here’s the deal – I had to cut back on carbs.  NO soda, NO bread, NO pizza and NO chips.  I ordered some of the supplements and thought may it would help me to drop 10 or 15 pounds.  I really didn’t think this would be much different than any other diet I’d tried before but figured I’d try it just to say I did.

And that brings us to today, 30 some days later and……drumroll please, 23 pounds lighter and have lost 8 inches from my hips, stomach and chest.  No, it’s not water weight.  I’ve gone from drinking 4 Mt. Dews a day to drinking a gallon or more of water a day.  My carb intake was well over 300 a day – now I max out at 25.  The best thing about the Xyangular products that I’ve used is that they boost my energy and keep me from craving the carbs and the caffeine.  I haven’t had a soda since April 30th.  I’ve had “crustless pizza”.  I’ve had a lot of meats and found that foods taste better to me.  I had a couple of strawberries the other night and marveled at how sweet they tasted.  Before I would’ve added sugar to all strawberries, but these were just sliced and savored.    

I still have a ways to go, but at least this month or so got me started down a path to healthier eating and living.  I bought a bike and am planning on riding it more and more as we go through the summer.  I’m finding I have more energy (who wouldn’t with 23 fewer pounds packing around with them daily?) and have been off my daily dose of Priolesec since giving up Mt. Dew.  My next goal is to lose another 25 pounds before little Grandson Bastian gets here in August.  I need accountability and Mike and Chris have been great supporters of me.  I don’t need to not see people eating carbs, I actually need to see you enjoying them and know that I don’t need them.  There will be a day that I can enjoy a few more carbs once in a while, but that day is not now.  This day, this old dog needs to keep working on her new trick.

By the way, if you’re interested in the products I’ve used, just message me or email me.  I’d be happy to share what I know and have some people who are much more knowledgeable share some facts with you.  If you’re not interested, please just encourage me.  Remind me how many carbs is in that bag of chips.  I’m a bit of a slow learner at times, but I’m learning.

Feel free to leave a comment. As this is a personal blog, it may be a few days before I can respond. Keep it clean and play nice or it won't show up.

