Fires, Service, Ranching, Media

Well, that may be the most random title I’ve ever come up with for this blog.  I often start out typing then go back and add a title, but today’s a different day.  As a family, our hearts and prayers have been with the cattlemen and women in KS, OK and TX over the last week or so.  No, we didn’t see it covered on the national news but to be honest, I don’t catch a lot of information on the national news.  I have the local news on in the morning as I’m getting stuff done around the house, but am usually walking out the door to my job marketing real estate when the national news starts.  By the time I get home and get supper fixed, the national news is over.  I don’t think I miss much though.  My Facebook newsfeed was BLOWN UP with news of the fires.  I’m fortunate to have friends in many states and they’ve shared pictures and stories and prayers.  And lately, they’ve shared notes written to the national media and government officials.

The main question posed has been, “Why no coverage?  Why aren’t you trying to raise some sort of help or donations with your power and coverage?”  I’ve thought long and hard about that question.  At first, I too was frustrated by the lack of media coverage.  But while doing my life group study I came to a conclusion.  You see, when a major emergency happens in America, we usually hear out cries from the masses begging for help.  When the wildfires swept through the Plains last week, the men and women just grabbed what they had left and went to work.  There wasn’t time to waste waiting on help from the government or the media or celebrities.  There were animals to check, fences to be built and homes and barns to be rebuilt.  Unfortunately, the checking of animals often meant putting many down due to the severity of their burns.  And so, without large populations asking for help and relying on the government, the media and government didn’t think it was necessary to address it.  And, truth be told, they probably didn’t.  The rest of the American farmers and ranchers and rural citizens are taking care of their neighbors.  Neighbors aren’t just those who live next door, but who share the world with you.  And the response from the neighbors has been tremendous!

I got a call last week while I was at work from Mike and Chris.  They were wanting to donate a semi-load of hay.  Could I find a trucker willing to haul it?  I did a quick search and found them a couple of people to call.  This Tuesday, Marc Fenton showed up to get loaded with round bales.  He said they were heading out Friday morning and apparently, God was having a conversation with Chris.  Chris began feeling lead to haul a trailer with his truck out with hay and/or supplies.  He had the same look of determination and excitement in his eyes as he did when he and Jesse would go on mission trips to Turtle Mountain Indian Reservation in North Dakota.  He had commitments here, but today managed to rearrange his schedule so he can go.  And that’s the heart of ranching.  Always working to make your herd its best, but also being willing to lend a hand to those who are having a harder time than you are.  Trust me, it wasn’t a good day at our place yesterday.  We lost a cool little steer prospect and our gomer bull broke his leg somehow.  BUT, we still most of our herd, our family and our health.  There are those who have lost all of that, and yet, they’re moving on, working at rebuilding what they are left with.

I’ve asked Chris to take the camera along and have someone document it for us.  I’m sure he’ll have stories to tell and will be forever changed by what he sees and hears.  Back to that life group study….we’re discussing how to use our gifts and talents…..Chris, you have the gift of serving, son.  Go do what God has called you to.

2 thoughts on “Fires, Service, Ranching, Media

  1. Rural America tends to take care of it’s own. Especially farmers/ranchers. Not to be ungrateful but free stuff usually comes with strings.

    Like

Feel free to leave a comment. As this is a personal blog, it may be a few days before I can respond. Keep it clean and play nice or it won't show up.

