Fathers

“A good father is one of the most unsung, unpraised, unnoticed, and yet one of the most valuable assets to our society.”  Billy Graham

I came across this quote as I was planning out this post.  I know there are those out there who may not agree with this statement, but they certainly haven’t been as blessed in the dad department as I am.

I have always been a Daddy’s girl and always will be.  My Dad was 30 when I was born.  He worked harder than anyone I know to provide for our family of 6.  By the time I was 12, Dad had given up row crop farming by then and I was able to help out more in the hay field and spend a lot of one-on-one time with him.  Dad never expected a pat on the back, a word of encouragement or a lot of attention for the amazing job he was doing.  He just did it.  He raised us to understand what service really is.  He taught us to do a job well, the first time, in a timely manner and to take pride in that work.  Once I was married and had the boys, he transitioned from the most amazing Daddy to the most amazing Grandpa.  All the grandkids think they’re Grandpa’s favorite…..and they are.

I also believe I’ve been blessed with an amazing father-in-law.  Paul has endured and persevered through many trials in his life (including the loss of a son and a daughter) and still has a great outlook on life.  He knows we’re just temporary residents of this world and that our real goal is Heaven.  He too, works hard and continues to farm, raising both crops and cattle.  I often worry about how much he does at his age but all of the men in my family tell me to hush – it’s his purpose on this earth.  All of the grandkids believe they have a special relationship that no one else has with him – and they’re right.

And while the last Dad I want to mention here isn’t a dad to me, he is a wonderful dad to our sons.  Mike and the boys are an amazing team.  He has transitioned so well from parenting kids to teens to young adults.  He listens to them, prays for them, encourages them and loves them.  What more could you ask for?  He handed over the clippers to them when they were very young, teaching them a skill that earns them extra money and is something they can use for their entire lives helping others and someday, their own children.

If you ever ask where I get the determination, drive and passion I have, you only have to look at this face.

DSC_0380

And if you ever want to know where Mike gets his stubborn streak, love for God, sports and political discussions, look here in his Dad’s face.

IMG_2085

And the boys, yeah, they get all of those great traits wrapped up in one generation.

IMG_2086

So to all the Fathers, Dads, Daddys, Fathers-in-law, Happy Father’s Day!  You are worth far more than you can imagine, shaping the world for generations to come.

Feel free to leave a comment. As this is a personal blog, it may be a few days before I can respond. Keep it clean and play nice or it won't show up.

