Final Day of 5 Things

Can I just take a minute and say “Woohoo!  I did it!”?  I had major doubts that I would actually be able to come up with 5 things to write about for 30 days.  And I wondered if and when I would find the time to hammer them out.  I’ve learned a few things along the way.

1.  Every post does not have to be full of deep thoughts.  Sometimes just a recipe or a few thoughts are plenty.

2.  Spell check is my friend.

3.  So is the edit button on WordPress.  I’ve published with numbers showing up at the oddest places.  Always go back and double check your work.

4.  Blogging doesn’t actually take THAT much time.  Many of the posts were banged out in 5 minutes.

5.  When challenged to do something, I have a very hard time not following through with it.  There were times I was completely exhausted, had little to no brain activity and a whole list of excuses lined out to defend why I didn’t post only to realize that meant I failed the challenge.  Not that I’m competitive or anything.  🙂

I  have used this challenge as a way to begin blogging again.  I took an extended break after my article on Amendment 1 in the August election in MO.  That post went viral, blew up my phone with notifications and brought much controversy to my blog.  It was my opinion and I felt like I stated that clearly enough.  I eventually shut off all comments because I simply did not have the time to monitor and reply to them.  We were extremely busy at work, were getting ready for the State Fair cattle shows and the end of the year awards ceremony for the Missouri Club Calf Association.  It took awhile for me to be willing to dip my toes back into the blogging pool.  So, this challenge brought me back.  Not promising I’ll be here every day but I’m hoping to be more regular in the blogging world.

By the way, today was the first Sunday in Advent.  I pray you take time this Christmas to reflect on the fact that Christ came to save us all but it’s up to each of us to choose Him.

2 thoughts on “Final Day of 5 Things

Feel free to leave a comment. As this is a personal blog, it may be a few days before I can respond. Keep it clean and play nice or it won't show up.

