5 Chores I Should Be Doing Rather Than Writing This Post

Yes, it’s exactly 1 week until Thanksgiving and I have a chore list longer than I care to write out…and for a list maker like myself, that’s bad.  Instead of working on the chore list I’ve been trying to get my regular laptop to fire up.  Seems to be an issue with start up.  So now I’m on a tablet with NO pictures.  Bear with me and hope the computer can be fixed tomorrow.

1.  Laundry.  Mike is an amazing husband who willingly washes and dries laundry.  He doesn’t fold, hang or put away.  That’s my part of the gig now.  And there are at least 3 loads staring me down right now.  Probably wouldn’t take more than 10 or 15 minutes and I’m not sure why I’ve been putting it off.

2.  Dishes.  Totally my domain.  I spent several hours Wednesday organizing our kitchen again.  No reason not to put the clean dishes up and reload the dirties.  With Chris gone this week we’re not going through as many dishes (he’s the only one who eat 3 meals a day here).  Once again, a 5 to 10 minute job that I’ve just been avoiding.

3.  Cleaning out the bookshelf in our living room.  We get no less than 5 cattle magazines a month.  Most of them have landed on this book shelf for at least the last several months.  I need to box up a bunch and send them to the attic.  Our Bible and Bible study bookshelf also seems to be overflowing so it must be time to make a donation to the church library.  This one might be a 30 minute job.

4.  Our office.  UGH.  I MUST deep clean the office before Thanksgiving.  That is the room that has become a dumping ground in our house.  Hopefully tomorrow I can organize and clean it out.  This one is going to be a big job – taking several hours.

5.  The garage.  Double UGH.  We live and work on a farm.  We have everything from canned goods to cattle vaccines, boots to burger (in the freezers), coveralls to canines (dogs sleep inside at night).  We also have a box spring and mattress and kitchen supplies from when Jesse lived in an apartment at school.  This one is going to be a family project.

There you go.  If you wonder why I’m not getting a post up, you might send in the troops to make sure I’m still alive.

Thankfulness

1.  The TV Show “Family Feud”  A whole lot of comedy with a peak into what America thinks.

2.  This tablet.  As much as I prefer my laptop, this little deal sure will work in a pinch.

3.  Farmers – they work every day to provide for so many needs of my family – not just food, but fuel, medicine and clothing just to name a few.

4.  Friends who support, encourage and keep me accountable.

5.  Lights.  Without them I’d be in bed every night by 7 pm and not want to be up until about 7 in the morning.

Feel free to leave a comment. As this is a personal blog, it may be a few days before I can respond. Keep it clean and play nice or it won't show up.

