5 Favorite Soup/Stew/Chili Recipes

Cooler weather has arrived in our little corner of the world and that means it’s time for me to start making a lot more soups/stews/chili.  So, I felt like this might be a great time to share 5 of my favorites with you.

1.  Chili.  The men in this house will tell you that I LOVE chili.  The older I get the more I’m willing to expand my horizons, but chili is definitely my first love.  And we make it as simple as possible.

Brown 1 pound burger for a regular batch or 2 pounds for a bigger batch.  I use hamburger or deer burger or a combination of the two.  I usually toss in 1/2 an onion per pound of burger.  Drain fat if you have any.  Add seasoning packet (Williams Chili Seasoning or homemade seasoning).  Stir and let simmer for a minute or so.  Add 2 cans diced tomatoes, 2 cans chili beans and about 1/8 to 1/4 cup sugar per pound of meat.  Simmer and enjoy.  When we had a indoor wood stove several years ago I would put this in a pot and let it simmer on top of the wood stove all day.

2.  Pioneer Woman’s Corn Chowder.  I like to make this one as a side with some hot ham and cheese sandwiches.  Would also be good with some hot roast beef sandwiches.  You can find the recipe for this one here:  http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/10/corn-chowder-with-chilies/  I will warn you that I only use 1/2 the green chilies and only 1 of the peppers in adobe sauce.

3.  Crockpot Stew.  I had this one ready for the crock pot and ended up cooking it in the oven because the family wanted it sooner than later. We’re not a patient lot around here.  BUT, this would be awesome to come home to after a long day at the office or in the field.  http://northtexaskids.com/ntkblog/index.php/quick-family-meals-crock-pot-beef-stew/ 

stew

4.  Loaded Baked Potato Soup.  This one is next on my cooking list.  Maybe Wednesday I’ll get it done.  My niece brought this to a family dinner and it has since been on our list of favorites.  We served it for Christmas supper one year.  http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/loaded-baked-potato-soup

loaded soup

5.  Broccoli Cheese Soup.  Yes, in our house this soup MUST have a meat side.  We don’t do Meatless Monday or any other variation of that idea.  We are meat eaters.  But, if you have this along with a meatloaf or even a sandwich, everyone’s happy.  http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Broccoli-Cheese-Soup/

There you go – five easy soup recipes that will warm you up and nourish you all at once.  Enjoy!

Thankfullness

1.  The way God paints the world this time of year.  The changing leaves, sunsets and sunrises, the bright colors of apples and pumpkins and pears and well, you get it.  Fall is a colorful time of year.

2.  Football season.  Our family enjoys watching professional and collegiate football.  We don’t often get to high school games, but we do enjoy the down time together.

3.  I’m thankful for my camera.  I had the opportunity yesterday to look back through some pictures from the last several years.  I’m thankful for this piece of equipment that can catch precious memories.

4.  Technology.  Without technology, I wouldn’t have the job I have and I wouldn’t have the opportunity to communicate with and become friends with people across the country and even the world.

5.  Election day.  While the political ads drive me crazy this time of year, I am thankful for the opportunity to express my beliefs and opinions at the voting booth.

Feel free to leave a comment. As this is a personal blog, it may be a few days before I can respond. Keep it clean and play nice or it won't show up.

