5 Favorite Things About Our House

Six years ago, we had just completed siding our new home.  It was the last step to getting us enclosed before winter came so we could work on the inside over the winter.  We began concrete work the first week of September that year by November the house was all enclosed and ready for work.  So, today I would to share with you my 5 favorites about our house.

 

1.  Our living room – We have a vaulted cedar ceiling.  My dad and his brother and cousin milled all the finish lumber for our house.  My sister and I have a special memory of sealing the ceiling.  We weren’t thinking really clearly at the beginning and were barely thinking at all by the end.  You see, we started at one side and worked our way to the peak.  The problem was that the fumes from the poly sealant rose….to the peak.  The only other person in the house at the time was my sister’s grandson who was a little over a year old at the time.  He wasn’t going to be helpful.  We managed to get down and even managed to get it finished after a bit of fresh air.  The walls in our living room now have pictures of the boys showing through the years along with some pictures they’ve won.  It really is a family room in every sense of the word.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   DSC_0021   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2.  Our dining room – especially the table.  A couple of years ago I told the men in this house that I wanted to build a new dining room table.  I had found the plan I wanted to use and it looked simple – actually it was simple.  They took over and built the table for me.  We finished staining it two days before Thanksgiving and moved it into the dining room the night before we hosted nearly 50 people for Thanksgiving the next day.  What can I say, we work well under pressure.  We’ve received a lot of compliments on it and it really does make our dining room complete.

3.  Our bedroom – Mike and I really spoiled ourselves with our bedroom.  We wanted to do something unique in there.  We found the half log siding and decided doing 3 walls would make it feel cozy.  We also have our own bathroom and a HUGE closet.  We plan on being here for the rest of our lives and decided we better make our room one we would be very happy with.

4.  The kitchen – especially the counter.  This counter was made by my dad, uncle and second cousin.  It really is a one of a kind counter made out of cedar slabs.  Below the counter on the living room side is a stone wall, giving us a breakfast bar of sorts.  Above the counter we have a header board with stone on it.  I have a huge bay window that overlooks our west pasture and gives us a beautiful view of the Missouri sunsets that God paints for us.  I love the open concept of our kitchen and living room.

5.  The front porch.  I love sitting on the porch enjoying the south east pasture view.  We’ve hosted several celebrations at this house and they always start on the porch and often last there for a time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have to tell you the back story on us building this home.  NEVER did I dream that Mike and I would take on such a task.  We’ve lived in some pretty rough houses over the years and always made them work.  I had prayed that God would make me content and even come to love our house and He had.  Until….  The house we were living in was built during World War II.  What does that mean, you might ask?  It means that when they poured the basement they had no rebar.  Rebar is necessary to give concrete strength.  Our basement walls were falling in.  We finally realized that we must do something.  We checked with several contractors and discovered just to fix the basement would cost us as much as building a new home.  And that would not do anything for the out dated wiring or the lack of insulation.  So, that’s when we decided to pursue building.  We spent 9 months from the pouring of the slab to the day we moved in.  It was probably one of the hardest projects we’ve ever undertaken.

Thankfulness Posts

1.  My father-in-law.  He is a man of God, a farmer and definitely a family man.

2.  My mother-in-law.  She is always there for her family, her friends and her church.

3.  My workplace.  I have been truly blessed to have bosses who encourage me to be the best I can be.

4.  Mike’s co-workers.  They challenge him and give him a unique witnessing opportunities.

5.  Our church family.  We’ve been at First Baptist Mexico for 14 years now and are as a happy and challenged there as ever.

One thought on “5 Favorite Things About Our House

Feel free to leave a comment. As this is a personal blog, it may be a few days before I can respond. Keep it clean and play nice or it won't show up.

