5 Things for 30 Days

November is upon us.  10 months of a year gone.  Time keeps going so fast that it is hard for me to keep up at times.  But, I want to take time each day this month for 5 things.  Actually 2 lists of 5 things each day.  One list will be 5 things/people for which I am thankful.  The other will be 5 things I want to share about.  It might seem a bit random, but it will definitely give you a glimpse into my life.  And yes, at times, my life is a bit random.

So, here we go.

Thankfulness

1.  My relationship with my Savior, Jesus Christ.  My life without my Savior would be empty and meaningless.

2.  My husband, Mike.  I am so very blessed to have this amazing man in my life.

3.  My dad, Mangus.  He was and is a shining example of a father’s love.

4.  My mom, Margaret.  She was and is a woman who loves her family above all else.

5.  My country.  Yes, at times I get extremely frustrated at the politics in our government, but I am blessed to be an American.

feedlot fence

5 Things I Loved About Growing Up On A Farm

1.  Probably the #1 thing was the work ethic I learned on the farm.  It baffles me how so many in the world expect others to do for them when they are capable of doing for themselves.  It’s not how I was raised and it’s not how we raised our sons.  I was taught how to do a variety of tasks and once taught was expected to do it right the first time.

2.  The knowledge of how to care for others – whether it is other people or animals, you learn how to be compassionate and caring.  I always had some sort of animal around that was my responsibility.  Dogs, cats, rabbits, cattle, pigs and horses all made their appearances in my growing up years.  For much of my childhood, my neighbors were older people.  My dad’s parents had passed away by the time I was a year old so these neighbors were surrogate grandparents for that side of the family.  Ruby Shelton had known my dad’s family when he was growing up and had run a general store with her husband.  She had kept a lot of trinkets and always had something special for me at Christmas and had a story about my dad each time I visited.  I found it really funny that she called him Pee Wee.  Mr. & Mrs. King were the “next door” neighbors and always had me come and help them pick apples.  Mr. & Mrs. Price spent their winters in Florida and sent me letters and packages from there.

3.  Family time.  Farming is a family event.  I can’t count the meals we ate in the fields growing up but I can recall with a great deal of love the time spent with family.  I am the youngest of my siblings.  By the time I was in junior high everyone had moved out.  My sisters were married the year I turned 8 and my brother headed off to tech school in Nashville when I was 13.  We would spend summers doing custom hay work and spending time working together.  I don’t think Mike knew what he was getting into when we started dating.  Three generations working at hauling 1,500 bales of hay in an evening made for some interesting times.  You sure get to know everyone’s strengths and weaknesses in that setting.

4.  The responsibility given at a younger age.  I hear parents of kids who live in town try to figure out how to make their kids more responsible.  It’s hard, but on the farm there are plenty of opportunities to take on responsibilities.  I started helping with financial book work in junior high, worked in the hay field every summer and learned that if I didn’t step up and take on responsibilities, then I wouldn’t earn more privileges.

5.  Freedom.  Exploring in the woods, hunting for mushrooms, fishing, riding the horses in the pasture.  My parents didn’t let me run wild, but I had a lot of freedom on the farm to discover my interests and passions, my desires and dreams.

So, what did you love about growing up on a farm?  What 5 things would you like to see me write about?

One thought on “5 Things for 30 Days

  1. I too loved the freedom of being on the farm. I would and could spend hours out in the pastures and timber. That was our playground. We also made games out of simple things, collect treasures we found and made forts. I loved being outside and still do!

    Like

Feel free to leave a comment. As this is a personal blog, it may be a few days before I can respond. Keep it clean and play nice or it won't show up.

