Introducing Jesse

Installment #2 of my introduction to our family.  Jesse is our younger son and he turns 20 today!  Can you believe my baby boy is now 20 years old?  He was never really a little baby….he weighed 8 pounds 14 ounces and was 21 1/2 inches long.  He followed his brother by 2 years and 1 week.  Jesse was born during a huge time of spiritual growth in my life.  I was content in my walk with Christ so He sent Jesse.

Jesse has always been a determined young man.  Some might even say stubborn.  I’m going to go with the thought that I have no idea where he got that trait.  Mike would laugh and point a finger directly at me and my side of the family.  Once Jesse sets his mind to something, he WILL accomplish it.  Thankfully, Jesse has decided to use that strong will for good.  I spent years praying that God would some day, somehow use him…..and He does.  Jesse is great at striking up conversations with others and guiding them to Christ.  I’m impressed.  A verse that meant a lot to me when I was pregnant with him was from 1 Timothy 4:12 “Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.”  I believe this verse is very much Jesse.

Jesse has always been amazing with animals.  He showed his first bucket calf before he was 3 years old.  It likely would have been sooner, but we stood in his way.  He rarely has shown a heifer that is just really cantankerous.  I’m not sure if it’s because of the ones he chooses or because of the calmness he exudes.  He is confident in the show ring.  At the beginning of his senior year of high school, not only did he win the Crossbred Heifer show at the state fair, he also won Beef Showmanship.  He was all of 16 (almost 17) and accomplished his goal!

Jesse is a passionate and loving young man.  Once he commits to something, he’s all in.  He has a heart for missions work both in our community and around the US.  When Jesse commits as your friend, he’s there for good and bad.  He learned a great work ethic and has high expectations of those around him.

Jesse is money wise.  When he was struggling with math as an elementary student, we discovered if we changed the problems to be about money, he could suddenly figure them out. Jesse took a business class during his summer semester at junior college.  It made sense to him and opened his eyes to other opportunities in his future.  And a proud parent moment came earlier this fall when he paid off his student loans before his 6 month grace period was up.

DSC_0158 - Copy

So, there’s a snapshot of my younger son showing at the MO State Fair this year.  Anything else you’d like to know about him?  He’s a blessing to our family.  Happy birthday, Jesse.

One thought on “Introducing Jesse

Feel free to leave a comment. As this is a personal blog, it may be a few days before I can respond. Keep it clean and play nice or it won't show up.

